Texture Scavenger Hunt

I wasn’t very good at all about getting pictures for this activity, so bear with me, I’ll try to describe as best as I can. Our little art group got together and we learned about texture. First we talked about what the word “texture” meant. Then read a book about texture (it wasn’t really good, so I won’t give you the title), then we decided to find as many textures as we could around the yard. We found smooth things (skin), bumpy things (rocks), rough things (concrete wall), pokey things (pine needles), crunchy things (leaves), and so many more I can’t list them all. I think my favorite thing was hearing Little O say new words like “texture,” “pokey,” “bumpy,” and “crunchy.” He still yells “crunchy!” and runs to stomp on all the leaves every time we go outside.

Image

We gathered up some of the outside textures (leaves and pine needles), and came inside to add them to some inside textures that I  had already collected and were waiting on the art table. The kids had fun making texture collages, though I think the most exciting thing was getting to use safety scissors. Moms spread the glue around, and kids chose different things to stick on their paper.

Image

We also tried doing rubbings with the leaves, but in my case I ended up doing most of the rubbing. The older kids were better able to understand the concept of using the crayon on its side, rather than using the point.

20131101_112529

Leave a Reply

