Morning Devotional

As part of my effort to live my life with more intention, I started a morning devotional with my son. It takes about 5 or 10 minutes, but so far has been a welcome addition to our mornings.

Let me tell you that mornings are NOT my forte. When I was in pre-school, my mom said I was so slow in the mornings I’d frequently miss school. In elementary school I’d usually be in my pajamas when my best friend showed up to walk to school together. I’d usually end up walking alone. My youngest sister says the chore she dreaded getting assigned was waking me up in the morning. At my first job out of college, my colleagues would say “don’t talk to Emilie before ten in the morning!” So let’s just say I’m very slow to wake up and put on my happy face.

Since I have this little challenge, I feel like it’s important for me to be awake at least an hour before Little O so that I’m a bit more pleasant when I get him out of bed. That way I can do my own personal prayers and study and do a few things that I want to do without toddler-style interruptions. This effort has been hit-and-miss. I’ll report more on that later.

However, the morning devotional has added some cheer into our mornings and as a bonus Little O has started memorizing some scriptures! (He just turned two.)

The morning devotional consists of 1) singing songs, 2) saying a scripture (we recite the same scripture for a whole week before we move on to another one), and 3) a morning prayer.

Generally I let Little O pick the songs; he either names them or we look through our Primary Songbook and he stops at a picture he likes. I sing them mostly off-tune and sometimes with a made-up tune since I’m not very good at sight-singing songs. This lasts anywhere from 2 to 10 minutes. Then we do our scripture, reciting it at least once, and sometimes more. I ask him to repeat as much as he can. Then we do our kneeling prayer and that’s it!

It’s a first attempt for me at a real morning ritual and a schedule for our day, and so far Little O and I really love it. I think it adds an important bit of connection with him at the beginning of the day, it helps us get our routine of morning prayer and scripture study going at an early age, and since it is part of our schedule it helps him transition to the “next thing.”

Have you ever done a morning devotional? What worked for you?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Morning Devotional

  1. Wow, I can’t believe Little O is memorizing scriptures! Every time we read scriptures (and we use the ones with pictures) it’s like the spirit of the devil descends upon our house. Kind of like wrestle mania with pictures of Jesus, but we persevere anyway.

    • Well, to be fair, scripture reading time in our house sounds a lot like your house. We use the same “picture scriptures” and Little O protests every time. I can’t decide if it is because the pictures are boring and awful, or if he knows it’s time to go to bed when the scriptures come out.

Leave a Reply

